Author Topic: Samatha: Strong emotions--resisting calmness/neutrality  (Read 1706 times)

shayme

Samatha: Strong emotions--resisting calmness/neutrality
« on: April 08, 2013, 05:06:54 PM »
Greetings all

I thank everyone in advance for taking the time to read this post.

Some background information: I have been practicing meditation intermittently for the past 18 months. I focus primarily on samatha because it seems to be the foundation of leading a life that is less chaotic [relaxation/mindfulness].

However, every time I devote myself to engaging in daily samatha practice I eventually find myself rejecting it. I can become very relaxed and mindful. When I carry this over to daily life from the cushion, I have had mixed results. A times, I will feel powerful in my interactions with others—very confident and controlled, calm and without emotion. Thinking more rationally about my interaction/conversations/actions. During this time after meditation, I will observe emotions that arise and immediately put them down by using diaphragmatic breathing or relaxing body, distracting mind with mindfulness, etc. It works for a while.

But then I begin to feel like I am an unfeeling, detached zombie of sorts. I start to crave emotion [like listening to heavy metal music to become excited/active, make jokes with people, and in general, just behave as I usually would]. I begin arguing with myself that I would rather take the highs with the lows, the exciting days with the depressed ones, than this neutral zombie like state. I even find myself after meditating for a few days and being fairly calm, to responding confrontationally to rude people that I work with, seemingly just to feel the rush of adrenalin/excitement again. And then at that point I will further argue to myself how I feel more alive and human again with this up/down rollercoaster ride instead of mindful zombie.