Author Topic: Anger/Agitation after Meditation  (Read 16705 times)

languedocienne

Anger/Agitation after Meditation
« on: March 20, 2013, 06:39:14 PM »
Hello, please forgive me if I miss some formalities of the forum, I'm new here and this is my first post :)

I am relatively new to meditation although I have been doing yoga for a number of years. Almost exactly one year ago, I started to practice meditation daily. A day or two after I started, I started noticing that I was more angry than usual and felt agitated/irritable all day. I also started noticing some pain/discomfort in my lower abdomen and started having digestive problems/IBS-type symptoms.

A few days later I had to go to the hospital because I had appendicitis. I had my appendix removed and did not return to meditation after that because I was disturbed about what happened.

This year, I started practicing meditation again and a few days later - the same exact symptoms popped up again! Anger, agitation, digestive/IBS-like symptoms that I haven't seen since I meditated last a year ago.  ???

I wanted to get your opinion about what is going on. Is the meditation unearthing anger I've held back in my subconscious, and if so, is it wise for me to continue practicing or should I stop? How do I deal with these feelings of anger/irritability/uneasiness when they arise? Is it ok for me to meditate everyday or should I take it easy for a while?

Thank you in advance for your help.

- Languedocienne

redalert

Re: Anger/Agitation after Meditation
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2013, 09:52:45 PM »
Hi Languedocienne,