Author Topic: Am i improving at all  (Read 2110 times)

Vixsesh

Am i improving at all
« on: July 28, 2012, 09:39:51 AM »
Ive been meditating for more than 18 months now and it feels great. Its changed my life. But how do i know for sure if im on the right path to improvement in meditation.

Quardamon

• Teachers were: P.K.K. Mettavihari, Frits Koster, Nel Kliphuis. (In the line of Mahasi Sayadaw)
Re: Am i improving at all
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2012, 11:29:48 AM »
Hello Vixesh,

Just for a change I will give you a reaction that you and most people on this forum might not like:
         One does not know if one is on the right path     ???
Of course, there are schools and teachers that have a clear idea of what is to be done and what is to be accomplished. So if you want to tread the path of that school or of such a teacher, he might be able to tell you. (He/ she might react, that the answer to your question is of no importance. He might only give you corrections to your technique.)

But in a broader sense your question might be about what is worthwhile in Life, what is Good. And Life is far broader than meditation techniques. The sense that one is a worthwhile part of life has just as much to do with moral behaviour and connection to people and to life in general.
You say it has changed your life. Take an honest look at your life and at the changes. Really honest. Than ask yourself: Is this an improvement? If the answer is "Yes", than live with that answer, and go on quietly.

At times, not-knowing can be confusing.
     At (other) times, not-knowing can be purifying. Not-knowing can make one modest.

Quardamon

• Teachers were: P.K.K. Mettavihari, Frits Koster, Nel Kliphuis. (In the line of Mahasi Sayadaw)
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2012, 11:49:28 AM »
P.S.: