Author Topic: Vipassana and Reiki  (Read 3195 times)

moon unit

Vipassana and Reiki
« on: May 19, 2012, 05:36:28 PM »
Hi everyone,

I've been practicing Vipassana/Mindfulness meditation for about four months on a pretty much daily basis and it's something I want to remain a part of my life. However last week I met a woman who is a Reiki Master and as I;ve always been interested in Reiki I asked her to teach me how to do it. So over the weekend I was attuned to levels l and ll.

Then out of curiosity I did a search on this forum for 'Reiki' and found that peole think that Reiki and Vipassana shouldn't be practiced together and this concerns me. If I had to choose I would definitely choose meditation but I'm interested in knowing why people think Reiki and Meditation don't complement each other as Reiki is described as a completelt harmless practice that only does good.

Does anyone have experience of these things or could tell me if practicing Reiki could hinder my meditation. I have no real desire to become a practicioner but for the next 21 days I'm supposed to practice on myself and then I would like to practice on the odd person but not to do it as a job.

Any advice?  :)

Stefan

• The Marvellous Omannobazong!!!
  • love is the key
    • Vipassana (Goenka), Freestyle, Family, God
Re: Vipassana and Reiki
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2012, 05:49:43 PM »

It's like a pool: you cannot have a blank surface while making a splash.

It's like a mountain: you have to decide wether you climb it on your own or let yourself be carried up to the summit by helicopter.

Do you want to be attuned or do you want to tune yourself?

just a few thoughts ...  ;)

anicca

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Staff
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • KISS: Keep it simple stupid.
    • Content.
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2012, 08:01:56 PM »