Author Topic: Time spent on the cushion...  (Read 4016 times)

Billymac629

• Bill
  • Everything rises and everything falls away
    • Breath and Satipatthana
    • mindfully observing
Time spent on the cushion...
« on: March 02, 2012, 12:43:34 AM »
So just wondering how much time everyone feels is a suffice amount of time to meditate... I usually do about an hour a day.. 30 minutes in the morning and 30 minutes in the evening or afternoon..  Although recently I've had days where I only got the morning sit in since I'm a coach and season is starting up.

Now I know one should meditate as much as one can, but I've heard 40 minutes to an hour is sufficient and also some teach minimum of 2 hours per day... Any opinions??

With metta
« Last Edit: March 02, 2012, 11:15:14 AM by Billymac629 »
Nothing in this world is to be clung to as I, me, or mine...

Alexanderjohn

Re: Time spent on the cushion...
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2012, 12:51:34 AM »
You can really only know this for yourself. It's not so much that meditation is a formula that will magically churn out insight and peace the more effort you pump into it. You have to know your limits and be realistic with yourself about them. This means knowing when to gently stretch these boundaries. And do remember, it's not just about what happens on the cushion.

Andrew

• friends tell me things, sometimes I listen.
    • Letting Go.
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2012, 02:06:25 AM »
I find trying to make myself achieve some target, only brings up rebellion, I've learnt the hard way not to stress about it. Sit when you can for as long as seems profitable. what you are doing now is more than enough, what really counts, to echo Alex, is that moment to moment awareness, plain and ordinary, during the day. Being your own jovial-scientist-observer-friend, "hmm, look at that feeling, what an amazing thing!"