Author Topic: meditation and bliss  (Read 3763 times)

teacher

meditation and bliss
« on: March 01, 2012, 04:20:16 PM »
Bliss -- Bliss can be a state of profound satisfaction, happiness and joy, a constant state of mind, undisturbed by gain or loss ----source wikipedia

During my initial days of mental shocks better known as maniac episodes ::) ,i remember i experienced this state of bliss :D sometimes .It was absolutely similar to the definition given above.In fact most of the material on internet relate  meditation and bliss in that through meditation one can achieve bliss.
I have been doing mindfulness  for about 2 months and can surely say that i have got lot's of peace of mind but no bliss

i am a novice in meditation  :-X so my question is for experts who are doing meditation for like more then 2 -3 years .

Is one can really achieve a state of bliss through meditation ?

peace and bliss are two different things that is for sure ....although i am not in a want of bliss now but seriously i loved those states as  want for  these got me into meditation.

ankur 

Matthew

• The Irreverent Buddhist
  • Meditation: It's a D.I.Y. project.
    • Buddhism is a practical psychology and philosophy, not a religion.
    • If you cling to view, you must know this limits your potential.
Re: meditation and bliss
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2012, 06:17:44 PM »
ankur,

Yes - bliss states (Pali: Jhana) can be achieved and they are a great aid on the path.

When you say you have been "doing mindfulness" what do you mean exactly?

Kind regards,

Matthew
~oOo~     Tat Tvam Asi     ~oOo~    How will you make the world a better place today?     ~oOo~    Fabricate Nothing     ~oOo~

teacher

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2012, 06:16:04 AM »
ankur,

Yes - bliss states (Pali: Jhana) can be achieved and they are a great aid on the path.

many many thanks for your reply. It gives a great motivation to stay on the path for beginners like me.