Author Topic: Is the total amount of Happiness and Sadness equal in everyone's life?  (Read 5587 times)

Is the total amount of Happiness and Sadness equal in everyone's life?

I am a beginner of Vipassana Meditation and i realized lately that the total of Happiness and Sadness in a person's life is equal to zero, irrespective of beauty, handsomeness, wealth , knowledge,  creed or color. Let me know your Opinions and If i am correct.

For example, If you enter a room which has Air cooler, the person feels relieved after coming inside on a hot day, how long? 5 minutes. After that we are just looking TV, chatting etc. The AC goodness is forgotten. This enjoyment came because the negative/problem/hot air was there before coming. Had you been born and bought up in AC, you would have never felt the goodness of AC. If you were running short of money, and you get some money, you enjoy it. If you had lots of money, getting the same amount of money doesn't feel great. When a successful player loses a Game he feels very bad, when a regular loser wins one game he feels very good and doesn't feel bad when he loses. Rich man at the time of death feels that he is losing all the wealth for nothing, beggar at the time of death is happy as he is getting rid of poverty.
So I think what you enjoy is the delta ( difference between the badness and the goodness and vice versa).
So happiness is equal to sadness for all, right? Or is there a way to remain happy all the time?

I think Vipassana meditation helps you reduce the amount of happiness and the sadness, those who don't meditate are very happy for small good things and very sad for all small things?

Am I right, please help me understand.

Thanks,
A Vipassana Beginner.

mettajoey

• If you follow the standard allowable path, you'll get standard allowable results
  • Share the love
Dear V_B,