Author Topic: Really Bad Day  (Read 10308 times)

Mindfullness

Really Bad Day
« on: April 18, 2011, 09:49:10 PM »
I'm not even sure if this should be a vipassana forum post, but for some reason, I feel like this is the best place to go for help right now. For about six years now, since I became an undergraduate at my university(I am now a non-degree graduate student at the same university), I have become highly aware of my issues of deep insecurity regarding my self-esteem in the areas of education and work. I did not end up doing well in my undergrad. From the moment I stepped onto my college campus, for reasons I cannot explain, I felt burned out, like this wasn't for me. I think I might have taken too many A.P. classes in high school and become fed up with trying so hard and getting little in return(in terms of high grades). Those issues have not gone away. Last week, I took a Calculus 3 test and I ended up getting a D in it after studying for a week. On the first test, I got a B, and way above the average, and so I felt really dissapointed this time. I always have this feeling, though. I always have this feeling that no matter how hard I try, it doesn't matter in the end, because I will only get a B or a C, and to me, that is not acceptable, especially since I want to go to graduate school. Now, I feel useless. I don't know what to do. These feelings of inadequacy never go away. In terms of work, I did not do an internship, so now, it is hard for me to find a full-time job. I feel like I'm not doing something is not right. Maybe I'm trying too hard, which is, conversely, why I did not do as well as I wanted to in undergrad(as well as now). Maybe I have conditioned myself to just believe the fact that I'm not smart and am always doomed to mediocrity? I guess all this ties into vipassana because it made me see how much of self-doubt I am filled with, in regards to everything, including my posture. I am always feeling unsure or angry or frustrated at myself or at