Author Topic: Meditating with closed or open eyes?  (Read 7591 times)

Lesessais

Meditating with closed or open eyes?
« on: January 12, 2010, 04:22:53 PM »
Hi all,

I am a beginner in meditation and a newcomer to the forum. I have been trying to establish a meditation practise for the last three months or so.

As I understand it, meditating with your eyes closed seems to be the recommendation for students of Vipassana. I have found it somewhat easier to maintain concentration on my breath with eyes open, but at the same time I have a strange feeling that the open eyes distracts me from reaching a deeper and longer concentration throughout my sessions.

What are your thoughts on this? What are the pro's and con's of eyes closed vs eyes open? What would you recommend?

Very thankful for your input on this.

Life student

Re: Meditating with closed or open eyes?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 02:32:35 AM »
Hi Lesessais,

I too am new to Vipassana meditation, but I would like to chime into this topic if I may. I find value in both forms of meditation, with the eyes open and with the eyes shut, though my preference is certainly with my eyes shut. Shutting my eyes allows me to tune into the experience at a higher level. I believe the eyes often give us false perceptions of things; we tend to believe only what we see. With our eyes shut, our mind is willing to delve into dimensions without limit or judgment.

Meditating with my eyes open while defocusing my vision, however, still holds value. I typically employ this technique when I am in a situation where I need to "come back to center." This happens most often when I am in public and I begin to experience a degree of anxiety, stress, or concern. I have discovered that by defocusing my eyes and taking a few deep diaphragmatic breaths, I can immediately alleviate all disempowering emotions. In light of this, I often wonder if my mind would innately be less turbulent had I been born with poor vision.

mik1e