Author Topic: The Eight Fold Path  (Read 3831 times)

Andrew

• friends tell me things, sometimes I listen.
    • Letting Go.
The Eight Fold Path
« on: July 23, 2011, 12:22:03 PM »
Hi Sangha,

The more I sit (or don't sit as is the case is right now  ::) ) the more I realise the importance of having a grip on the whole of the Ancient Path. I do not really spend much time contemplating what is means, all these 'Right this and Right that' but I've come to realise I should!
As  a forum we have often used the phrase Noble speech. We talk about skillful and unskillful speech. Usually when there is some drama unfolding and we throw these phrases around and sometimes admit to not being 'skillful'.

I want to skip right to this part of the path and talk about it a bit becuase 1) I need to understand it better 2) As an internet forum, it is probably the part of the path we can most excel in when posting comments and opinions, advice and arguements around here.

I am no expert on any of the factors of the Ancient Path. Infact, I'm down right lazy. After so many years in the 'spiritual game' I just bleep over all the mundane stuff and I want to get to the juicy bit; Good meditation!!!! It probably explains why I have basically failed to realise anything even close to the changes I need in my life.

I think as a forum, we really would do well to have a close look at this factor of the path. here is a link to the access to insight summary of the Buddhas teachings on the subject.

http://www.accesstoinsight.org/ptf/dhamma/sacca/sacca4/samma-vaca/

The other point I would like to make, and open up a discussion on is this; Do we have the right or authority to offend someone else because we thing that it will help them grow? To put it another way, is it our responsibility at anytime to observe other peoples ego and seek to correct them?

I will leave these as questions and discussion starters for now, I have an opinion of course, but I would like to not throw that out there first.