Author Topic: Discussion about noting in meditation practice  (Read 4941 times)

Masauwu

• chipping away
Discussion about noting in meditation practice
« on: May 01, 2011, 08:03:35 PM »
Noting as i understand it is making a soft mental note of every arising object/phenomena observed within one`s reality. Thorough descriptions can be found in the writings of two venerable Burmese meditation masters: Mahasi Sayadaw and Sayādaw U Pandita.

As a beginner i was wondering what were your thoughts on this addition to regular awareness practice and whether you noticed positive results if you tried it for a while. It seems to improve my level of mindfulness when off the cushion, as in doing everyday things that don`t require full attention (walking mostly).
The summer river:
although there is a bridge, my horse
goes through the water.

Renze

• Ungrounded
    • No hope
Re: Discussion about noting in meditation practice
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2011, 08:42:37 PM »
My personal experience, and opinion: When I started meditating a few years back, it was in the Mahasi Sayadaw Vipassana tradition. So I'm quite familiar with the mental noting technique. It's a good aid to mindfulness practice, and especially mindfulness off the cushion.
After a while though, I tried just being aware without noting. I started first with the breath. Instead of mentally noting the rising and falling of the belly, I started to just be aware of the breath. I immediately noticed a very big difference. I was able concentrate more deeply and get more deeply absorbed into the meditative state. In fact, not long after I stopped mentally noting, I had my first Jhana experience.