Author Topic: Retreats; how soon is too soon?  (Read 4437 times)

Brizzleben

Retreats; how soon is too soon?
« on: January 21, 2011, 02:24:43 PM »
Like many others my only experience of meditating has been informed by reading and audio tapes and perhaps for this reason I've quickly become discouraged when  Ive found it difficult to still my mind.

I'm therefore drawn to the idea of taking part in a ten day Vipassana retreat; to have a sustained experience of the practice and to allow myself time to quieten down.

Do I go for it, say in a few months, or should I spend longer preparing myself in some way?

I'd be interested in your thoughts.

Morning Dew

Re: Retreats; how soon is too soon?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 03:14:51 PM »
Good man Ben for starting this thread  :)

I started practicing Shamatha (Calm-Abiding) in March 2010 on this very forum (actualy at home, daily solo practice).
I never experienced any retreats so cant tell out of experience as others might. From what I have read it can be even traumatising if one enters such intens course wihtout being prepared meaning having established a well going daily solo practice at home.

And since you seem to have problems with calming the mind for you is best to start with Shamatha, calm-abiding to create a calm, relaxed yet mindfuly awake state of being. Not necesserely a quiet mind  ;D but rather being able to understand your mind and diferentiate your actual self from that ever chatering monkey in your head.

Ive found it difficult to still my mind.

Save your self lots of energy and time by getting this one streight; it is not about stilling your mind at least not by putting effort into it. The more you try to still it the louder it will get back at ya  :D